Featured projects

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
You have been added to CityLab's newsletter database.

Menu ↑



Griffith Park Precinct Design Competition

Urban & Masterplanning, Cultural & Civic

Griffith Park Precinct Design Competition



City of Canterbury Bankstown invites landscape architects and architects to participate in the Griffith Park Precinct Design Competition for a high-level plan for the Griffith Park Precinct, the design of a community centre with its surrounding landscape and the design of the public domain.

Through the Competition, the City of Canterbury Bankstown is seeking a proposal that presents an optimistic vision, that has a place-specific identity, that is accessible and safe, that operates sustainably and that provides amenity suiting the interests and needs of its diverse population.


The Competition process is composed of an open Expression of Interest followed by a design response stage. Interested parties are encouraged to register as competitors. Up to four Competitors will be selected by the Competition jury to proceed to Stage Two. Following the Competition, a winner will be selected by the Jury to deliver design services for the project.


The competition is a multi-disciplinary challenge, requiring a range of skills including urban design, landscape architecture and architecture. The competition includes a new community centre, in order to be eligible to lodge a Stage One Submission in the Competition, a prospective Competitor must demonstrate that their team contains an Architect who:

  1. is a practising Architect, architectural company or architectural partnership within Australia;

  2. is eligible to register as an architect in New South Wales, Australia pursuant to the Architects Act 2003 (NSW); and

  3. has a registered Australian Business Number (ABN) and is registered for the Goods and Services Tax with the Australian Taxation Office.


  • Registration Period 18 Jul - 17 Aug 2023

  • Stage One Response Period 01 Aug - 24 Aug 2023

  • Stage Two Response Period 05 Oct - 16 Nov 2023

  • Winner announced March 2024


The deadline for registration was 11:00am AEST on 17 August 2023. Registration has closed.


New South Wales


Darug Country


City of Canterbury Bankstown

Project type


Jury (titles at time of engagement)

Andy Sharp

Director Planning CBCity

Annabel Lahz

Director at Lahznimmo Architects

Laura Harding

Senior Designer, Hill Thalis Architecture + Urban Projects

Oi Choong

Consultant Landscape Architect

Simeon King

Director Turf Design Studio

Related Projects